The Glyndwr Award

Annually from 1994 til present

Medal designed and made by Kelvin for Y Tabernacl, and the Museum of Modern Art, Wales. Named after Welsh hero Owain Glyndwr, crowned Prince of Wales in Machynlleth in 1404.

Presented annually for “An Outstanding Contribution to the Arts in Wales”

A heavy art medal in oxidised sterling silver, representing the Cardigan Bay coast and the River Dyfi, with a bead of 18ct pure Welsh gold marking the position of Machynlleth.

The Award is rotated between music, the visual arts and literature. Past medal winners are:

  •  Sir Kyffin Williams, painter
  •  Jan Morris, author and broadcaster
  •  Alun Hoddinott, composer
  •  Iwan Bala, painter
  •  Gillian Clarke, poet
  •  Robin Huw Bowen, Welsh triple harp player
  •  John Meirion Morris, sculptor
  •  Gerallt Lloyd Owen, poet
  •  Elinor Bennett, Welsh harpist
  • Peter Prendergast, painter.